Debbie will be teaching a class using her woolen products in a special pincushion.

How many years have you been quilting?
 I learned my sewing basics in my junior high school Home Economic Class back in the late 60’s which means I have been sewing for approx 40 years…….never actually added that up before…..makes me feel really old!!  My first sewing project was a yellow gingham drawstring apron which we had to embroidery cross stitches on!! I can’t actually call myself a quilter. My passion is hand stitching and wool appliqué.

 What motivated you to start quilting?

 I was influenced early as a young girl towards sewing by my great aunt, grandmother and mother. My great aunt lived until she was 101 years old and my favorite memory of her is hand piecing her quilts. She always had a quilt hanging up on the living room ceiling on pulleys so she could lower it to work on it. My grandmother made lots of doll clothes for me and loved patchwork quilts.  I participated in many local shows with my mother and stitched shop sample. Wool became a favorite of mine after taking a class at a local quilt shop. My mother encouraged me to start my business while I cared for her before she passed away in 2001.

 Where have you traveled in your quilting teaching career?

 Teaching is always fun and I have had the privilege of teaching in Oregon, Washington, and California.

What is the most unusual, frightening, funny, frustrating experience you have had in your quilting career?

After thinking about this question I actually must say that my most memorable and unusual experience was at Road 2 California while vending in the Big Tent and the wind came up and we had to be evacuated from it. Everyone was so helpful at getting our things out safely. It is always a reminder the Mother Nature is always in charge and that sometimes things are just out of your control and that being flexible is the best policy.  

 Who is your favorite author?

 I don’t really have a favorite author. I have enjoyed reading Mitch Albom’s books, The Quilt That Walked to Golden by Sandra Dallas, also love looking through quilting, and home decorating magazines. I also love to work on crossword puzzles.

 What is your birth order and where did you grow up?

 I am the 2nd of a 4 girl family. I was born in Oregon but moved every year of my childhood between different cities in Oregon and Washington because of my dad’s job. Portland was our last move when I was in High School and have been here ever since. I did not have the opportunity to go to college but was blessed to marry my best friend shortly after high school and began my life as a full time wife and mother.

 Do you have children – grandchildren?

 I have 2 children. Amy and Daniel……who are both married and I have one granddaughter who is 2 ½ years old. I am fortunate my children live very nearby and I get to see them every week.

 Do you have any pets?

Our 11 year old black lab Coal is a special part of our family. We live in the country so all the neighbor dogs hang out here a lot too!!

 What is your favorite food?

I am a meat and potato girl……my favorite meal is a nice filet mignon and baked potato…….accompanied by family and friends.

 Do you have any other hobbies besides quilting?

 Besides stitching I love to work in the yard, antiquing, and love being a NANA!!!

 What would be on your “bucket list” (like the movie) if you could do anything and money was no object?

What would be on my Bucket List and money is no option??  That’s hard for me!!  Beside things like remodeling our home, being debt free, and being healthy, I just want to be where I am at and near my family!!