Lisa Coulombe

www.quilts2wear.com

 

Lisa will be teaching an evening class for one of our vendors, Embellishment Village.

 

How many years have you been quilting?

I have been quilting for 20 years.  I began when I was 8 months pregnant with my first child so it’s easy to remember. 

 

What motivated you to start quilting?

Every baby needs a baby quilt and there were no quilters in the family to provide one so I decided to learn.  In that first class we hand drafted each block, used templates and hand pieced everything.  The entire quilt is hand quilted.  We’ve come a long way baby!

 

Where have you traveled in your quilting teaching career?

I have taught quilting from the East Coast of the United Staes to the West Coast as well as in the Middle East.

 

What is the most, unusual, frightening, funny, frustrating experience you have had in your quilting career?

I’m not sure anything has been particularly unusual or scary, but I truly love wearing my quilted jackets and having people stop me to admire them and ask me where I bought them.  One of my favorite memories is of walking around at a quilt show in Austria and many people coming up and asking for pictures.  They didn’t speak any English, but that didn’t stop us from communicating.  Two Japanese girls I ran into were fascinated by a jacket I was wearing that had a number of 3-dimensional techniques.  They spoke no English and were excitedly speaking to each others and pointing at my jacket.  I turned around to show them the back (there are pictures of my backside all over the world, LOL) and they both exclaimed “Oooh!  Origami!”  Comments like that make it all worthwhile.

 

Who is your favorite author?

If I’m not quilting I’m reading so this is a really tough question.  I love J. K. Rowling, Anne McCaffrey, Ellis Peters, Elizabeth Peters, J.R.R. Tolkein just to name a few off the top of my head. 

 

What is the last book you read or are reading?

I’m currently reading Brisingr by Christopher Paolini

 

What is your birth order, only child, first, second, third, or ??

I am the first child and on my father’s side I’m the first girl born in 84 years.  Unfortunately my generation is all girls so they sold the family business since a girl couldn’t possibly run a large company.  It’s just as well, I don’t think I was cut out for corporate life!

 

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Maine in a suburb of Portland, Maine’s largest city.  Maine is very beautiful and I miss that aspect of it, but it’s too darn cold!

 

Where did you go to college?

I went to the University of Maine at Orono where I majored in Botany and Plant Pathology.  I only worked in that field for a year.  My husband joined the Navy and we moved too often after that for me to find anything in botany.  I became a stay-at-home mom and quilting was my joy.  Moving often I quickly discovered the best way to make new friends was to join the local quilting group. 

 

Do you have children – grandchildren?

I have two children: Jake is 20 and lives in Arizona and Elisia will be 19 this summer and attends CSU Long Beach as a music performance major.

 

Do you have any pets?

I have 2 pampered indoor-only cats.  One is a long-haired Himilayan mix we found at the shelter and the other is a pedigreed Ragdoll.  They both feel that it is their duty to sleep on every piece of fabric as soon as it enters the house.

 

What is your favorite food?

Without a doubt my favorite food is chocolate chip cookies.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides quilting?

When I’m not quilting, shopping for fabric or attending quilt shows I can usually be found reading or playing computer games.

 

What would be on your “bucket list” (like the movie) if you could do anything and money was no object?

I’m actually very happy with my life as it is.  I’ve done lots of wild things in the past: skydiving, had my own motorcycle, hitch-hiked around New England, etc. so no regrets on that score.  I would like to see New Zealand, especially after seeing The Lord of the Rings.  I’ve never taken a cruise (my husband seems to think he does enough of that already in the Navy) and would love to visit Alaska that way.  Also I’ve always wanted to write a book and I have a few ideas…