Emily Martin

No web page

Sorry, Emily forgot to send photos.

Emily will be teaching two one-day classes and one two-day class on hand appliqué. 

 

How many years have you been quilting?

If I count the baby quilt I made for Methuselah it would be a much higher number.  But I own up to doing it for 35 years, starting with patchwork and going into appliqué in the past 14 years.   

 

What motivated you to start quilting?

Shortly after finishing my first appliqué project and showing it at our guild show, I began to get requests from fellow guild members to show them how to do the techniques used in that quilt.  So, in my kitchen I began what became a regular session of classes that reached some 75 ladies over a few years time.

 

Where have you traveled in your quilting teaching career?

My teaching career has pretty much involved teaching in the tri state area of Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Maryland.  2010 has opened it up to a far greater range though.

 

Who is your favorite author?

My favorite author is Kristin Heitzman but I also read Jan Karon and Leisa Kelly. 

 

What is the last book you read or are reading?

The last book I read and enjoyed (sometimes I read a book just for the need to read) was …..   (Can’t remember the title of the book I want to put on # 5 but will send it when I find it out)

 

What is your birth order, only child, first, second, third, or ??

I was born fourth out of 6 children and had a Mom and Dad who had enough concern for all of us to get us a good education and lots of love.

 

Where did you grow up?

My roots are from Pennsylvania.  I grew up in a very small town ~ the kind with a main road and no stop-light.  Gradyville was a wonderful place to live.  You left the doors and windows unlocked and never worried about your safety.  Do towns like that even exist any more?

 

Where did you go to college?

I attended a three-year nursing program In Wilmington, Delaware and still use my training.

 

Do you have children – grandchildren?

 Yes, we have five children and 11 of the most beautiful grandchildren (oops, sorry.  Grandmother pride showing.)

 

Do you have any pets?

No, we do not have pets right now because we are away from home so much with my teaching.  But I love cats and dogs and we have had both.

 

 What is your favorite food?

Fish! Unequivocally, I would eat it every night of the week.

 

Do you have any other hobbies besides quilting?

Do I have other hobbies ~ oh, yes.  I enjoy arranging flowers, I like to paint in oils, I will be in any singing group that comes my way but what I love most is having the grandchildren come for a visit.

 

What would be on your “bucket list” (like the movie) if you could do anything and money was no object?

Never having seen the movie (I live a very sheltered life, don’t I?)  I will go with my gut and say ~ I would love to have all the family together at a beach house and spend the week romping with them and doing the fun things they enjoy. 

One thought on “

Comments are closed.