2009 Faculty

This my first blog featuring teachers on the 2009 Road faculty. I will be listing the class titles that they will teach and also their web site so you can get a “feel” for the type of work that they do. And just for fun they have answered some questions about themselves. Actual class descriptions and dates of classes will be posted on our web site on July 7. Additional class information will not be available until then. I hope you enjoy these interviews.
Carolyn

Sharyn Craig, San Diego, CA
www.sharyncraig.com

Sharyn will be offering four classes: Backgammon, Compass for Almost All Quilters, Hands All Around and X Marks the Spot. All classes are pieced quilts that emphasize learning accuracy and good piecing techniques.

Sharyn is retiring from teaching quilting and these will be her final classes. Since Sharyn is retiring from teaching we will have a special exhibit of her quilts from the past thirty years on display in the lobby. She will also be the featured speaker on Saturday evening; Sharyn’s Swan Song will be a fun retrospective of her teaching career. This will be your opportunity to say goodbye to Sharyn.

More about Sharyn
Carolyn: How many years have you been quilting?
Sharyn: I started quilting in 1978. I took an adult education class. Within 3 months I was her teaching assistant. Within 2 years I was teaching through adult ed and local shops.

Carolyn: Do you have any other hobbies besides quilting?
Sharyn: I love to read, decorate my home, play with my grandkids, be with my kids and go to tea with friends.

Carolyn: What motivated you to start quilting?
Sharyn: I’d sewn forever . . . doll clothes starting at age 4, for my body in junior high, every clothing class I could take in high school. I was a Home Ed major in college, with clothing and textiles the emphasis. I did lots of different crafts, quilting just seemed like a natural “next step”. What I didn’t know prior to walking through the door at that first class was that it would become so all-consuming, and fulfilling.

Carolyn: Where have you traveled in your quilting teaching career?
Sharyn: I’ve taught in 47 of the United States . . . missing only Delaware, Wyoming, and Mississippi. I’ve taught in Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, and Australia.

Carolyn: What is the most, unusual, frightening, funny, frustrating experience you have had in your quilting career?
Sharyn: I think it must have been the time I was staying in a quilter’s home . . . a lady that I didn’t get to meet before going to bed that night (long story, but really happened) . . . to be woken up at 6 a.m. when she came into the room, stark naked, telling me not to worry she was just going to take a shower. Turns out I was in the bedroom (her bedroom) that had the bathroom with the shower off it. She came in to get clothes and take a shower. It may not have bothered her to parade in front of me au natural, but I assure you it wasn’t something I truly needed to experience!
A frustrating experience was when I showed up at a shop to teach a workshop only to find a sign on the door announcing they had moved. They did post the new address, but I wasn’t familiar with the area, so took me awhile to find the place. Since it was in the same area the phone number was the same so I had no way of knowing in advance that this had happened . . . oh, they COULD have called me and let me know, but that would probably have been too easy. It all worked out, but I was a bit frazzled before I finally got there and got everything started.

Carolyn: Does anyone else in your family quilt?
Sharyn: I had a great-grandmother who was an avid quilter. I only met her once, but am fortunate enough to have one of her quilts. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my oldest granddaughter will follow in my footsteps. She’s only 8, but has already made two small doll sized quilts, and is definitely interested.

Carolyn: What is your birth order? – only child, first, second, third, or ??
Sharyn: I’m the oldest, with one sister 2 ½ years younger then me.

Carolyn: Where did you grow up?
Sharyn: I was born in Denver, Colorado, moved to Chicago area at 6 months, spent the next 18 years moving around from Illinois to Georgia, to Illinois, to Indiana, to Illinois. Went off to school in Louisiana . . . met my now husband there . . . we married and moved to San Diego. We will be celebrating 40 years of marriage this year.

Carolyn: Do you have children – grandchildren?
Sharyn: I have a daughter, age 38, married with a 3 year old daughter, and a son, age 35, married with my two oldest grandchildren, a girl age 8 and a boy age 5.

Carolyn: Do you have any pets?
Sharyn: I had a cat for 18 years, but she’s gone now and we’re presently pet-less.

Carolyn: What is your favorite food?
Sharyn: Gosh, it would be easier to say what my least favorite food is (green peppers, mussels, and liver) . . . I love Mexican food, Italian food, pizza, almost all vegetables, just about any soup, stew, or goulash-y type food.

Carolyn: What would be on your “bucket list” (like the movie) if you could do anything and money was no object.?
Sharyn: Honest to gosh, I don’t think I have anything on this list that I’ve not ever done that I would really want to do. I tend to live in the present, without much thought to other things I wish I were doing . . . is that sad? I’ll have to work on that . . . especially for next year when I am no longer traveling 25 trips a year to teach!